David Letterman Will Receive The Mark Twain Prize For American Humor


And he deserves it! Don’t you think?

(Jodi shares the story at 41:35)

According to  the NY TIMES:

Mr. Letterman, the former host of NBC’s “Late Night” and CBS’s “Late Show,” stepped aside from his innovative after-hours comedy programs in 2015 to pursue other passions and cultivate a topiary-like beard. He will officially receive the prize in a ceremony that will be held on Oct. 22 and broadcast at a later date.

“For decades, David Letterman delivered comedy to America that was smart, authentic and, frankly, what many of us came to rely upon to elevate our spirits after a long day. Raise your hand if, like me, you shifted your bedtime because you didn’t want to miss a moment of Dave on television lest you not be part of the conversation with friends and co-workers the next day.” -Deborah F. Rutter (president of the Kennedy Center)

Mr. Letterman said in a statement: “This is an exciting honor. For 33 years, there was no better guest, no greater friend of the show, than Mark Twain. The guy could really tell a story.”

Previous winners of the Mark Twain Prize include Bill Murray, Eddie Murphy, Jay Leno, Carol Burnett and Ellen DeGeneres.


Want to hear more? Listen to Murphy Sam and Jodi: On Demand

When you subscribe to our podcast in iTunes or Google Play store, you get exclusive stuff you won’t hear on the show!

And while you’re at it… be sure to follow us on FacebookTwitter Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *